Babel Mumford and Sons

*images scanned by petraspective and edited by Kat.

  • RELEASE DATE /September 21st, 2012
  • PRODUCER /Markus Dravs
  • SINGLES /• I Will Wait (Released: August 7th, 2012)
    • Lover of the Light (Released: November 5th, 2012)
    • Whispers in the Dark (Released: March 11th, 2013)
    • Babel (Released: July 9th, 2013)
    • Hopeless Wanderer (Released: August 4th, 2013)
  • AWARDS /Won
    • Top Rock Album (2013 Billboard Music Awards)
    • Album of the Year (2013 Grammy Awards)
    • International Album of the Year (2013 Juno Awards)

    • Top Billboard 200 Album (2013 Billboard Music Awards)
    • British Album of the Year (2013 Brit Awards)

  • CREDITS /• Marcus Mumford – lead vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, drum kit, percussion
    • Winston Marshall – banjo, electric banjo, electric bass, electric guitar, resonator guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals on ``For Those Below``
    • Ben Lovett – piano, keyboards, mellotron, accordion, electric guitar, backing vocals
    • Ted Dwane – upright bass, electric bass, electric guitar, drum kit, percussion, backing vocals
    • Chris Alan – cello
    • Nell Catchpole – violin, viola
    • Nick Etwell – trumpet, flugelhorn
    • Ross Holmes – fiddle
    • Dave Williamson – trombone
    • Richard Martin – percussion
    • Jerry Douglas – Dobro and backing vocals on ``The Boxer``
    • Paul Simon – electric guitar and backing vocals on ``The Boxer``
    • Horn Arrangements By – Dave Williamson, Mumford & Sons, Nick Etwell
    • String Arrangements By – Mumford & Sons, Nell Catchpole, Ross Holmes
    • Art Direction – Ross Stirling
    • Engineered By – Robin Baynton
    • Additional Engineering By – Greg Freeman, Matt Lawrence
    • Mastered By – Bob Ludwig
    • Mixed By – Ruadhri Cushnan
    • Photography By – James Marcus Haney
  • RELEASES /Label: Gentlemen of the Road/Island (EU)
    Release Date: September 21st, 2012
    Catalog Number: VVR712814
    Barcode: 602537128143
  • RELEASES /Label: Gentlemen of the Road/Island (UK)
    Release Date: September 24th, 2012
    Catalog Number: 3712787
    Barcode: 602537127870
  • RELEASES /Label: Gentlemen of the Road/Glassnote (US)
    Release Date: September 25th, 2012
    Catalog Number: GLS-0130-02
    Barcode: 892038002619

Track list

*note: albums/tracks that you can purchase will only have 30 second preview clips available.

About the album

In late 2010, Mumford & Sons had already begun road-testing new material that they had been working on. Most of these songs, including “Broken Crown” and “Below My Feet”, had already been played live on numerous occasions before the album’s release. Mumford & Sons decided not to change their sound on Babel, which is the follow-up to 2009’s highly successful Sigh No More, which elevated them to international fame. They did, however, admit that they purposely took their time in order to perfect the sound that they had already developed.

After a year of speculation, it was finally announced via their official website on Monday, July 16th, 2012 that their new album Babel would be released in the UK on September 24th, 2012 and the following day in the US. A final track list and album art were also revealed, as well as a 30-second promo. Babel was made available for preorder on the band’s official website on Monday, July 23rd when it was announced that the album would also be released as a vinyl LP and a deluxe edition with additional tracks.

Upon its release, Babel debuted at number one on both the UK Albums Chart and the US Billboard 200. It became the fastest-selling album of 2012 in the UK, selling over 159,000 copies in its first week, and was the biggest selling debut of any album in 2012 in the US at the time, selling 600,000 in its first week. The album received generally positive reviews from music critics and was nominated in the category of Album of the Year for both a Brit Award and Grammy Award, winning the latter.

Highlighted review

Although the songs are melodic and accessible, they are far from routine; heavy rhythms dominate the floor of most tracks, while frontman Marcus Mumford’s impassioned and rasping vocals give the air of a man who is at least singing for his supper, and on occasions even his life.

– Ian Winwood BBC